Among the many interests and diversions in my life, writing commands quite a lofty spot.

The Mud Lane Saga.

The Mud lane saga currently consists of three books, Mud Lane, Mountain Misery, and  Hot Heads. The stories center around the numerous antics of a dysfunctional family set against the backdrop of rural post-war England. All are available on Amazon and all good re sellers of fine literary fiction and can be downloaded in all popular e-book formats.


Front Cover_3682371 MUD LANE

In 1960’s rural England, the traditional celebration of Guy Fawkes night is approaching and rival groups of children compete to take part. Before long, their comedic exploits get out of hand immersing them in a web of lies, greed and blackmail. Excellent Story telling and a keen eye for detail bring a colorful cast of characters to life in this thoroughly entertaining yarn.







front cover HOT HEADS

What do a stolen policeman’s bicycle, a kidnapped pig, and a Gypsy attack have in common? The dysfunctional inhabitants of the small village of Great Biddington find out when plans for a local fete unravel, tearing apart the social fabric of its fragile community. Hot Heads is a charming, laugh-out-loud comedy about rural life in post-war England.






mountain misery_stephen_r_drage  MOUNTAIN MISERY

A Short story in the Mud Lane series. Follow the misadventures of a family holiday in North Wales. A hilarious, disaster filled diary of grief stricken hardship, bad weather and misfortune.








showcover_thTHE PODCAST

Hear Mountain Misery and numerous other excerpts and short stories on the Mud Lane Podcast. Listen here, or download it from iTunes or your favorite media server